Do You Need a Permit for a Backyard Sauna? Rules in 10 States
Short answer: a small barrel sauna is often exempt from a building permit, but its 240V heater almost always needs an electrical permit. Don't assume a shed exemption covers a sauna, either. Those exemptions are written for unheated storage, and several cities on this page treat a heated or wired structure differently.
Check your local rules before you order. The same sauna can be exempt in one city and need a permit in another, because size limits and the rules for heated structures differ. Local setbacks also decide where in the yard it can sit.
What Most States Have in Common
- Many shed exemptions don't fit a sauna. Exemptions are written for unheated storage sheds; several jurisdictions exclude heated, conditioned or utility-connected structures (Madison: 'heated'; Denver: 'non-conditioned'; Boulder County: 'no utilities'; Portland OR: 'non-heated'). Seattle's limit is 120 sq ft.
- The electrical permit is almost always required. Even where the structure is exempt, the 240V heater circuit needs an electrical permit and inspection (e.g., Minnesota DLI says so explicitly).
- Zoning still applies to exempt structures. Every exemption we read says setbacks, lot coverage and easements still apply; some cities (Grand Rapids, Ann Arbor, Burlington VT, South Burlington) require a zoning permit even for small sheds.
- Wood-fired sauna stoves: federal EPA rules (40 CFR 60 subpart AAA) cover residential wood heaters made or sold since May 15, 2015. 60.530 lists no sauna-specific exemption; ask the stove maker for its EPA status. Local burn-day rules (Denver metro, Wasatch Front, Puget Sound, Multnomah County, Treasure Valley) target wood stoves and fireplaces, and none we read mention saunas by name.
- HOA rules are private and separate from city permits. Read your CC&Rs and get architectural approval in writing before you order, so you have a clear yes on record.
The 10 States Side by Side
Start with your state's row. Where it says "Set locally," your city or county sets the size limit, and the local examples show how much that varies. The last column shows whether you can do your own wiring as an owner who lives in the home. Tap a state name to jump to its full rules and official sources.
| State | Building permit exemption | Local examples | Homeowner electrical work |
|---|---|---|---|
| Minnesota | 200 sq ft (state code) | Minneapolis: 200 sq ft; Saint Paul: 200 sq ft | Owner-occupant, with permit |
| Michigan | 200 sq ft (state code) | Grand Rapids: 200 sq ft; Ann Arbor: 200 sq ft | Owner-occupant, with permit |
| Wisconsin | Set locally | Madison: 150 sq ft; Milwaukee: 150 sq ft | Owner-occupant, with permit |
| Colorado | Set locally | Denver: 200 sq ft; Boulder County (unincorporated): 120 sq ft; Colorado Springs: 200 sq ft | Owner-occupant, with permit |
| Utah | 200 sq ft (state code) | Salt Lake City: 200 sq ft; Springville: 200 sq ft | Owner-occupant, with permit |
| Washington | 200 sq ft (state code) | Seattle: 120 sq ft; Spokane County: 200 sq ft | Owner-occupant, with permit |
| Oregon | 200 sq ft (state code) | Portland: 200 sq ft | Owner-occupant, with permit |
| Maine | Set locally | Portland: permit application; Topsham: permit application | Owner-occupant: no state permit in an existing home (towns may require one) |
| Vermont | Set locally | Burlington: zoning permit for any size; South Burlington: zoning permit for any size; Montpelier: 100 sq ft | Owner-occupant, with permit |
| Idaho | 200 sq ft (state code) | Boise: 200 sq ft; Coeur d'Alene: 200 sq ft | Owner-occupant, with permit |
Permit Rules State by State
Minnesota
- Building permit (state level)
- The Minnesota State Building Code applies statewide. Minn. R. 1300.0120 subp. 4 exempts one-story detached accessory structures used as tool and storage sheds, playhouses and similar uses up to 200 sq ft from a building permit. Exempt structures must still meet the code, local zoning and setbacks, and cannot sit in drainage and utility easements. [revisor.mn.gov] [dli.mn.gov]
- City and county examples
- Minneapolis: One-story tool and storage sheds under 200 sq ft are listed as work that may not need a permit; the city asks you to confirm with it. [minneapolismn.gov]
- Saint Paul: Detached accessory structures over 200 sq ft need a building permit; under 200 sq ft no building permit, but zoning setbacks and lot coverage apply. [stpaul.gov]
- Electrical permit for a 240V circuit
- An electrical permit is required for lights, outlets and other wiring in a shed even when no building permit is needed, with rough-in and final inspections. Homeowners may pull their own permit and do the work only on a single-family home they own and occupy, and must do all the work personally. About 66 cities run their own electrical inspection; elsewhere you file with DLI. [dli.mn.gov] [dli.mn.gov] [dli.mn.gov]
- Wood-burning and fire rules
- We found no statewide rule written for wood-fired sauna stoves. Check your city's fire code and any local burn-day rules before you choose a wood-fired heater.
- Local installers
- See our Minnesota sauna installers and builders directory.
- Setbacks
- The state code does not set property-line setbacks for sheds; local zoning does. Saint Paul: accessory buildings only in the rear yard on typical lots, at least 3 ft from interior lot lines; corner lots follow principal-structure setbacks; max 15 ft tall (12 ft flat/shed roof). [dli.mn.gov] [stpaul.gov]
Michigan
- Building permit (state level)
- The Michigan Residential Code (Mich. Admin. Code R 408.30505, amending R105.2, effective 8/29/2025) exempts one-story detached accessory structures up to 200 sq ft from a building permit. [law.cornell.edu]
- City and county examples
- Grand Rapids: Every garage, shed or accessory structure needs an Accessory Structure permit. Under 200 sq ft it is a Planning (zoning) permit; 200 sq ft or more needs a Residential Building Permit. [grandrapidsmi.gov]
- Ann Arbor: Accessory buildings of 200 sq ft or more need a building permit; smaller ones still need a zoning compliance permit. [a2gov.org]
- Electrical permit for a 240V circuit
- A permit is required to add or alter electrical conductors or equipment. Permits go to licensed contractors or to a homeowner doing the work in a single-family home and its outbuildings that the homeowner owns and occupies. Enforcement may be state, county or local, so check the Statewide Jurisdiction List. [michigan.gov]
- Wood-burning and fire rules
- We found no statewide rule written for wood-fired sauna stoves. Check your city's fire code and any local burn-day rules before you choose a wood-fired heater.
- Setbacks
- Ann Arbor: not in the required front open space; in side open space only if farther from the street than the house and more than 3 ft from any lot line; rear open space coverage capped at 35%; max 21 ft tall. Grand Rapids (search excerpt of zoning sec. 5.2.08): at least 6 ft from the main building and 3 ft from side lot lines. [a2gov.org] [grandrapids-mi.elaws.us]
Wisconsin
- Building permit (state level)
- Wisconsin's Uniform Dwelling Code generally does not apply to detached garages and other detached accessory buildings (SPS 320.05(4)), so shed and sauna permits are set by each municipality's ordinance. [docs.legis.wisconsin.gov]
- City and county examples
- Madison: A permit is needed if the shed is over 150 sq ft, HEATED, or less than 10 ft from a dwelling. A heated sauna therefore appears to need a permit at any size; confirm with Madison Building Inspection. [cityofmadison.com]
- Milwaukee: Search excerpts of city pages say detached sheds of 150 sq ft or less, at least 3 ft from property lines, need no building permit and larger ones are treated as garages. We could not open the city page to confirm (blocked). [city.milwaukee.gov]
- Electrical permit for a 240V circuit
- Wis. Stat. 101.862 exempts an owner who owns and occupies a residence from state electrician licensing unless a local ordinance requires one. Local electrical permits and inspections still apply, and some suburbs limit what homeowners may wire (one excerpt says Shorewood limits homeowners to 120V circuits, which would rule out a 240V sauna circuit there). [docs.legis.wisconsin.gov] [wi-shorewood.civicplus.com]
- Wood-burning and fire rules
- We found no statewide rule written for wood-fired sauna stoves. Check your city's fire code and any local burn-day rules before you choose a wood-fired heater.
- Setbacks
- Madison: at least 3 ft from the house and other structures and 3 ft from rear and side lot lines; more on the side of the house; fire separation if closer than 10 ft to the house; max 15 ft tall; total accessory footprint 1,000 sq ft. [cityofmadison.com]
Colorado
- Building permit (state level)
- Colorado has no statewide residential building code; cities and counties adopt their own (usually IRC-based). Some rural counties have no building department. [doh.colorado.gov] [osa.colorado.gov]
- City and county examples
- Denver: No building permit for one-story, detached, NON-CONDITIONED storage sheds up to 200 sq ft of projected roof area (8 ft top plate, 14 ft max height). Up to two lights and two receptacles are allowed with an electrical permit. A heated sauna is arguably 'conditioned'; confirm with Denver CPD. [denvergov.org]
- Boulder County (unincorporated): Exempt only up to 120 sq ft, 12 ft tall, and with NO utilities. An electric sauna has utilities, so it needs a building permit. [bouldercounty.gov]
- Colorado Springs: The city's zoning code lists saunas by name as accessory structures. Structures under 200 sq ft may sit in the rear setback. [coloradosprings.gov]
- Electrical permit for a 240V circuit
- C.R.S. 12-115-116(2): no license is needed for electrical work on your own property or residence if it is inspected, unless the property is for sale, rented or open to the public. A permit is still required from the State Electrical Board or the local building department. [colorado.public.law] [dpo.colorado.gov]
- Wood-burning and fire rules
- November to March, on air-quality Action Days, indoor burning is restricted in the seven metro Denver counties (Denver, Boulder, Broomfield, Douglas, Jefferson, and parts of Adams and Arapahoe). Exemptions include EPA-certified stoves and devices above 7,000 ft. Whether an outdoor sauna stove counts as 'indoor burning' is not stated; we could not confirm. [cdphe.colorado.gov]
- Setbacks
- Colorado Springs: under 200 sq ft may locate in the rear setback; over 200 sq ft, 10 ft in A, R-E and R1-9 zones, 5 ft in most others; 12 ft max height in a required setback. Denver: no zoning permit if the shed meets the Minor Detached Structure standards. [coloradosprings.gov] [denvergov.org]
Utah
- Building permit (state level)
- Utah adopts the IRC statewide with amendments in Utah Code 15A-3 Part 2. The amendments to R105.2 change the retaining wall and deck items and add conex boxes but leave the 200 sq ft accessory-structure exemption in place. [le.utah.gov] [springvilleutah.gov]
- City and county examples
- Salt Lake City: Sheds and similar uses under 200 sq ft (residential) are exempt from building permits, but zoning standards still apply. [slc.gov]
- Springville: 200 sq ft for residential locations (120 sq ft non-residential). [springvilleutah.gov]
- Electrical permit for a 240V circuit
- Utah Code 58-55-305 exempts a sole owner building structures incidental to their residence (it names sheds and detached garages) for noncommercial use from contractor licensing. Salt Lake City lets an owner-occupant pull permits with an Owner/Builder Certification. Permits and inspections still apply. [le.utah.gov] [slc.gov]
- Wood-burning and fire rules
- Utah's mandatory no-burn rule (R307-302) covers solid-fuel heating devices in Salt Lake, Davis and Utah counties, Cache Valley and parts of Box Elder, Tooele and Weber counties. On no-burn days wood burning is prohibited unless it is a registered sole heat source. Whether a sauna stove is a covered 'heating device' was not confirmed; DAQ is the authority. [law.cornell.edu] [deq.utah.gov]
- Setbacks
- Salt Lake City: not in the required front or corner yard; rear and side yards at least 1 ft from the lot line (side yard only behind the house); at least 4 ft from your house and 10 ft from a house on an adjacent lot. [slcdocs.com]
Washington
- Building permit (state level)
- Washington adopts the 2021 IRC as the Washington State Residential Code (WAC 51-51). Local codes we read carry the IRC's 200 sq ft accessory-structure exemption, but cities may be stricter. [sequimwa.gov] [co.jefferson.wa.us]
- City and county examples
- Seattle: Stricter: exempt only if the roof footprint is 120 sq ft or less, one story, on a slab, piers or soil, not attached, not in or near an environmentally critical area, and used for storage or similar unoccupied uses. Other sheds need a permit (usually subject-to-field-inspection). [seattle.gov]
- Spokane County: Search excerpt: one-story detached sheds up to 200 sq ft are exempt; zoning, setbacks and easements still apply. Our fetch was blocked. [spokanecounty.gov]
- Electrical permit for a 240V circuit
- Only licensed contractors may do electrical work, except property owners who apply for the exemption with L&I's Property Owner Electrical Work Permit (affidavit). The permit is valid one year. Some cities and Tacoma Power do their own inspections. [lni.wa.gov]
- Wood-burning and fire rules
- Puget Sound Clean Air Agency burn bans (King, Kitsap, Pierce, Snohomish): Stage 1 bans fireplaces and uncertified stoves; Stage 2 bans ALL wood stoves, inserts and fireplaces without an approved exemption. Both ban all outdoor burning. Washington also restricts sale of uncertified woodstoves (RCW 70A.15); whether a given sauna stove qualifies is not confirmed. [pscleanair.gov] [ecology.wa.gov]
- Setbacks
- Seattle (NR zones): max 12 ft tall; usually not within 10-15 ft of the front lot line or within 5 ft of side lot lines; allowed in the rear 10-15 ft; total lot coverage caps apply. [seattle.gov]
Oregon
- Building permit (state level)
- The 2026 Oregon Residential Specialty Code (statewide) exempts nonhabitable one-story detached accessory structures not used for sleeping or cooking, up to 200 sq ft and 15 ft tall (400 sq ft on parcels of 2+ acres). [oregon.gov]
- City and county examples
- Portland: No building permit for non-habitable structures 200 sq ft or smaller (a zoning permit may be needed), but the page footnotes that this applies to NON-HEATED, non-habitable structures. A heated sauna may need a permit; confirm with Portland Permitting & Development. [portland.gov]
- Electrical permit for a 240V circuit
- ORS 479.540: no license is needed for electrical installations on residential or farm property you own if it is not for sale, lease or rent. The work must still meet code and be permitted through the local building department. [oregon.public.law] [portland.gov]
- Wood-burning and fire rules
- Multnomah County: on red days no fireplace or wood stove may be used (exemptions for sole heat source, low income and emergencies); cooking appliances are excluded. Lane County (LRAPA) issues daily home-wood-heating advisories Oct 1 to May 31. Application to sauna stoves not stated. [multco.us] [lrapa-or.gov]
- Setbacks
- Portland setbacks depend on zone; search excerpts of the zoning code show, for example, 5 ft side and rear in R5 and R7. We did not read the zoning code directly. [portland.gov]
Maine
- Building permit (state level)
- The Maine Uniform Building and Energy Code (MUBEC) must be enforced in municipalities with more than 4,000 residents. Smaller towns need not enforce it but may not adopt a different code. [legislature.maine.gov]
- City and county examples
- Portland: Portland's FAQ lists new accessory structures such as sheds among projects that require a permit, and its checklist has a simplified application for storage sheds of 200 sq ft or less. Treat any sauna as needing a Portland permit application. [content.civicplus.com] [content.civicplus.com]
- Topsham: The town defines a building broadly; exemptions are listed in Zoning Ordinance 225-61, and exempt projects may still need zoning review. [topshammaine.com]
- Electrical permit for a 240V circuit
- A state permit is required for electrical installations, but since 2025 (P.L. 2025 c. 88) no state permit is needed for work by a person in an existing single-family dwelling they own and occupy. Towns with their own electrical ordinance can still require a permit and inspection. Portland says all electrical work needs a permit. [legislature.maine.gov] [content.civicplus.com]
- Wood-burning and fire rules
- We found no statewide rule written for wood-fired sauna stoves. Check your city's fire code and any local burn-day rules before you choose a wood-fired heater.
- Setbacks
- Set by local zoning and, near water, shoreland rules. Ask your zoning office.
Vermont
- Building permit (state level)
- Vermont has statewide Residential Building Energy Standards but, per a regional planning guide, no statewide structural building code for owner-occupied single-family homes. Accessory buildings are governed by town zoning permits. [publicservice.vermont.gov] [ccrpcvt.org]
- City and county examples
- Burlington: New buildings, garages, sheds and accessory buildings are listed as needing a zoning permit; no size exemption is listed. [burlingtonvt.gov]
- South Burlington: All sheds, regardless of size, base or permanency, require a zoning permit. [southburlingtonvt.gov]
- Montpelier: Search excerpt: accessory buildings under 100 sq ft and under 10-12 ft tall are exempt from a zoning permit if they meet setbacks. [montpelier-vt.org]
- Electrical permit for a 240V circuit
- The Vermont Electrical Safety Rules do not apply to a single-family owner-occupied dwelling (rentals and rental ADUs are not exempt). Licensing exceptions are in 26 V.S.A. 910. Check town rules. [firesafety.vermont.gov] [legislature.vermont.gov]
- Wood-burning and fire rules
- We found no statewide rule written for wood-fired sauna stoves. Check your city's fire code and any local burn-day rules before you choose a wood-fired heater.
- Setbacks
- South Burlington: most sheds max 15 ft tall, 5 ft from property lines, with coverage limits. Burlington (search excerpt): accessory structures may project into side and rear setbacks only if 15 ft tall or less and at least 5 ft from the line. [southburlingtonvt.gov] [burlingtonvt.gov]
Idaho
- Building permit (state level)
- Idaho Code 39-4116 has local governments that enforce codes adopt the Idaho Residential Code (IRC-based) and allows amendments only within limits. Local codes we read carry the 200 sq ft shed exemption. [legislature.idaho.gov] [cdaid.org]
- City and county examples
- Boise: A building permit is needed to build, demolish or move a detached garage or shed of more than 200 sq ft. A search excerpt says sheds over 120 sq ft need Planning to confirm setbacks; not verified. [cityofboise.org]
- Coeur d'Alene: One-story detached accessory structures used as sheds, playhouses and similar uses up to 200 sq ft are exempt. [cdaid.org]
- Electrical permit for a 240V circuit
- Idaho Code 54-1016(2)(a) exempts property owners doing noncommercial electrical work on their primary or secondary residence and outbuildings from licensing. DOPL issues a homeowner electrical permit and the work is inspected. [legislature.idaho.gov] [dopl.idaho.gov]
- Wood-burning and fire rules
- Treasure Valley ordinances tie burning to forecast AQI. Boise City: at 74+ no open burning, fireplaces or ANY woodstoves; Ada and Canyon counties at 74+ ban fireplaces and noncertified woodstoves. Statewide, all outdoor burning is prohibited during a DEQ Air Quality Advisory. Other local-ordinance areas: Portneuf Valley, Franklin County, Sandpoint. [deq.idaho.gov] [deq.idaho.gov]
- Setbacks
- Boise (search excerpt of zoning code): sheds under 120 sq ft and under 7 ft high may sit 3 ft from side and rear lines in R-1A to R-3 zones. Not verified. [codelibrary.amlegal.com]
Federal Rules for Wood-Fired Heaters
If you want a wood-fired heater, ask the stove maker for the model's EPA status before you order, and follow the manual's chimney and clearance specs when it goes in. Residential wood heaters made or sold in the U.S. since May 15, 2015, fall under EPA's New Source Performance Standards (40 CFR 60, subpart AAA). The rule lists exemptions such as cook stoves and camp stoves, but it has no exemption written for sauna stoves. [ecfr.gov]
Questions to Ask Your Building Department
Call or stop by before you order. Bring the sauna's outside dimensions and height, the heater type, and a rough sketch showing where it will sit on your lot. Write down who you talked to and what they said, in case the question comes up again at inspection.
- Is a heated, electrically wired accessory structure of my size exempt from a building permit here? Ask whether the limit is measured by floor area or roof area, since Denver, for example, uses projected roof area.
- Do I need a zoning permit or a site plan even if no building permit is needed? Grand Rapids, Ann Arbor, Burlington, and South Burlington all require a zoning permit for small sheds.
- What are the side, rear, and house setbacks for an accessory structure in my zone?
- Who inspects electrical work here, the city or the state, and can I pull the permit myself as the owner? In Minnesota, the wiring needs an electrical permit even when the structure itself is exempt.
- If I choose a wood-fired heater, are there burn-day restrictions, chimney height rules, or a separate permit for the stove?
Once you have answers, work through our printable barrel sauna buying checklist before you order. Read our sauna wiring guide before you call an electrician, and use our barrel sauna foundation guide to plan the pad it sits on.
Frequently Asked Questions
Do I need a permit for a backyard barrel sauna?
Usually for the wiring and sometimes for the structure itself. Most of these states exempt one-story detached accessory structures up to 200 square feet from a building permit, but several cities are stricter (Seattle's limit is 120 square feet), and some exemptions cover only unheated or utility-free sheds (Madison, Denver, Boulder County, and Portland, Oregon). The 240V heater circuit almost always needs an electrical permit and inspection. Your local building department makes the final call, so ask before you order.
Is a sauna considered a shed for permit purposes?
Not always. Shed exemptions are written for storage, and several cities on this page carve out heated or wired buildings. Madison requires a permit for any heated shed, Denver's exemption covers only non-conditioned structures, Boulder County's requires no utilities, and Portland's applies only to non-heated structures. Ask your building department how it classifies a heated sauna before you order.
Can I wire my own sauna?
Often, yes, if you own the home and live in it. In all ten states an owner-occupant can generally do electrical work on their own single-family home, usually under a permit, but the details vary. Minnesota requires you to do all the work personally, and some Wisconsin towns limit homeowners to 120V circuits, which rules out a 240V sauna heater. Most buyers hire a licensed electrician anyway. A sauna heater is a 240V load of 30 to 50 amps, and an electrician usually handles the permit and inspection as part of the job.
Do HOAs allow barrel saunas?
It depends on your covenants, and they vary from one community to the next. HOA approval is separate from any city permit, so a sauna the city allows can still break your HOA rules. Read your CC&Rs and get architectural approval in writing before you order.
How far from the property line does a sauna have to be?
Your local zoning code sets that distance. In the cities we checked, the minimum from side and rear lot lines runs from 1 to 5 feet. Salt Lake City requires 1 foot, Saint Paul and Madison 3 feet, and Seattle and South Burlington 5 feet. Zoning usually puts the sauna behind the house, with extra distance from the house itself. Ask your zoning office for the numbers in your zone.
Sources checked 2026-10-19. If a rule has changed, tell us and we'll correct it.